Drained.

I’m feeling drained today. My body is fighting off a sickness and I’m trying to help it out!

I slept for 9 hours last night, and it felt great. I actually felt really good when I got up. And I had this delicious jar waiting for me:

jarNo, it’s not glue in there. It’s overnight oats!

oats2In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1/3 cup soy milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen peaches
  • 1 tsp. chia seeds
  • 1 tsp. agave nectar
  • A few dashes of cinnamon
  • A little bit of vanilla

It was delicious!

oats1

 

breakfast1Served with coffee:

coffee

 

breakfast2After breakfast, I started feeling tired. I was having some mild cold-like symptoms as well, so I took some medicine and did a little homework.

I also made some tea for class. I think I may be having some allergy problems, so I made a vanilla roobios blend with Adagio Cha Cha tea:

teaRooibos is supposed to help with allergies, so I try to drink it when I have symptoms. I also packed a Larabar for a snack:

larabar I set out for my 11 a.m. class and the walk was really uncomfortable. I was really overdressed and got hot in my coat and had to take it off on the way! I spent most of class trying to cool down. But then I was cold in my noon class! Something was up.

I grabbed a quick lunch before my 1:30 flute lesson and then headed back to my room where I made some tea:

tea2And took my temperature. And guess what? I had a low-grade fever. I was feeling drained, cold and sleepy. I needed to REST today. I didn’t end up going to flute ensemble because I’m not sure what I have and I don’t want to get anyone sick.

So what does this girl eat when she’s sick? I grabbed this from the dining hall:

dinner1A bulgar pasta pilaf with spinach:

pastaGrapes

grapesAnd Jell-o, because I kind of think that’s what you’re supposed to eat when you’re sick.

jello

 

dinner2With some Gatorade to keep me hydrated:

gatoradeI took a nap around 5, and I think it helped, but I’m still feeling tired. I’ve spent my evening watching The Biggest Loser and I may try to do a little homework before bed.

I was hungry after my really early dinner, so I had some peanut butter toast with a smashed banana:

toastI think I will make overnight oats again for breakfast because they were so good this morning! And try to get more rest. This week is ok for me to be sick because I don’t have any big deadlines, but I don’t want to fall behind!

One thought on “Drained.

Leave a Reply

