A Winter Race

Race day has come and gone! And boy, am I glad. This one was a doozy for me.

I was up at 7 a.m. and greeted with the sun rising! I was happy to see the sun was coming up, but not so happy to see the weather: 17 degrees and a windchill of 8 degrees! This race was not going to go as planned.

I had a breakfast of peanut butter honey toast and coffee:

breakfast1I actually only ate this piece of toast because I wasn’t that hungry:

toast

 

coffeeAfter breakfast, I got ready and tried to mentally prepare for the cold. I wasn’t excited about running in such cold weather because I’ve spent a lot of January avoiding it! I’m training for my late-March 10K primarily, but I was hopeful I could just tack on this race no problem. The weather was like “No way.”

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 3.13.03 PMAccording to my Garmin, it was 21 degrees with a windchill of 12 degrees. BRRRRR!

Allen came over at 8 and then we drove to the race together. At first we were worried that there was hardly anyone there, but eventually we found the people (and the bathrooms!) and felt better. The race started right around 9 a.m., and I had a great first mile! 7:42. I knew it was fast, but I also knew I had to go fast to hit my goal finish.

Unfortunately my lungs weren’t agreeing with my goal, and I got a nasty side-stitch right after the first mile. This wasn’t the “keep running through it” kind of side-stitch. This was a “I can barely stand up straight right now” kind of side stitch. I took a walking break at about 1.5-miles and again at 2.2 miles. I don’t regret my decision to take it easier: I knew I wasn’t prepared for the cold temperatures.

My finish time was 26:41, which was pretty good considering the walking breaks I took. Of course it’s not a PR (still searching for that 23:59) but I’ll take it for a cold February race. Come spring, I’m coming for you, 5K!

Here was a breakdown of my race:

Screen Shot 2013-02-16 at 3.12.20 PMAfter I finished, I immediately turned around and started walking and looking for Allen. I had no idea what to expect from him because this was his first 5K ever! There was a turn right before mile 3, so I walked up there from the finish and started looking for his red hat.

When he finally came around the bend, I was so excited to see him! We ran together just a little bit before he picked up the pace to the finish. I let him finish alone because my stitch hadn’t subsided, but I was SO proud of him for finishing.

And guess what? He did GREAT, finishing at 31:42!

We got our finishing medals and waited around for awards. I was pretty sure I placed in my age group. We took some finish photos while we waited:

allen finishSo proud of him!

elise finishLook how cold it was:

allen breathCan you see his breath?!

finishedSweethearts 🙂

The finally posted results, and I saw that I was the first female to finish in the 15-19 age group! Although it wasn’t my best race, I am still proud that I was able to win an award.

awardThe winners got little glasses filled with chocolate! I had a few and they were almost frozen from being outside.

medal

 

awardsAfter our race, we decided to get cleaned up because neither of us were very hungry. We headed to lunch around 11:30 a.m.

Bagels, of course.

lunch1I got an egg and cheese sandwich on an everything bagel. Yum!

eggAnd a chocolate chip bagel with strawberry cream cheese:

chocochipAfter lunch, I went back to my room for a NICE LONG NAP. I’m on-call tonight, so I’m hoping my nap will help me through. I’m going to watch some basketball this afternoon and get ahead on some homework.

 

Leave a Reply

