Rain AND Shine

I’m taking a break from homework to update you on the happenings of my day. It’s been a pretty good one!

I was up naturally around 7:30, but didn’t get out of bed until closer to 8. It was a lazy, rainy morning. I had one thing on my mind: breakfast. I put together something pretty special, and perfect for a rainy Sunday morning.

Brioche French Toast with Berry Sauce

toast2

Serves 4 (including one teenage boy)

Ingredients:

For the french toast:

  • 1 loaf brioche bread
  • 6 extra-large eggs
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • A few dashes of cinnamon

For the sauce:

  • 1 cups frozen mixed berries
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup water

Preheat your oven to 200 degrees. Set out a baking sheet to place finished french toast on during the cooking process.

Start by slicing the brioche into thick slices. I estimated two slices per person, or three if the slices were thinner. My slices were sort of uneven.

brioche

 

brioche2Next, mix together the eggs, milk, vanilla and cinnamon into a baking dish or pie plate.

Set up a dipping station next to the stove to make preparation easier.

dippingHeat a non-stick skillet or cast iron skillet on medium heat. While it warms up, get started on the berries.

Into a saucepan, add the berries, water and sugar. Heat on medium-high heat until the mixture starts to bubble.

berriesDon’t worry too much about the sauce, just check on it every few minutes and give it a stir to keep it from sticking. If you notice sticking, turn down the heat.

Once the French toast skillet is heated, dip two slices of brioche into the egg mixture and place into the hot pan. Flip when they turn golden brown and the egg is cooked.

cookingAs the French toast is cooked, place onto the baking sheet and into the oven to keep warm.

The berry sauce is done when it’s thickened to your liking. It’s really that simple!

Serve with coffee and enjoy:

breakfast1

 

toast

 

coffee

 

breakfast2After breakfast, I spent some time with my mom analyzing the weather forecast. I REALLY wanted to run outside in my new shoes because I just didn’t think it was right to wear them for the first time on a treadmill. But it had been raining all night and morning, and I didn’t want to get them too dirty on their first time out.

Eventually, there was a break in the rain long enough for me to hop into some running clothes and head outside. BOY was I glad I did. All of the indoor running I’ve been doing has been torture, even with the cold rain that picked up a little bit into my run.

I ran just over 30 minutes and 3.18 miles at a 9:50 pace, which was the perfect pace. Not hard, but energizing!

After my run, I cleaned myself up and went with Allen to visit my grandma. She had Valentine’s for us and the rest of my family, which was really fun. We also picked up some lunch from Crazy Bowls and Wraps:

lunchI had a rice and bean bowl with asian salad, avocado, sesame ginger sauce and hiyashi. We seriously need one of these in Columbia ASAP!

I packed myself up after lunch and enjoyed a send-off of House Hunters with my mom before heading back to school. The drive was good, because I was driving away from the rain and into the sunshine! Columbia was sunny and warm when I got here, but the wind was crazy!

I stopped by to do my cat-sitting duties and then hit up the grocery store. I got some good stuff:

groceriesBesides the standards of apples, bananas and milk, I also got some HyVee red pepper hummus:

hummusSugar snap peas for snacking

peasAnd two kinds of cookies! Lemon iced:

cookies1And molasses:

cookies2I enjoyed an apple and molasses cookie snack while I unpacked.

After getting settled in, I had to do room checks with my floor partner that took about 30 minutes. After that, I threw together dinner and got started on my homework.

dinner1Frozen veggie burger on toast with red pepper hummus, ketchup and mayo:

dinner2With peas:

peas2And sour cream and onion baked chips. I’d been craving the flavor!

chipsHalf-strength Gatorade to drink:

gatoradeAnd two cookies for dessert:

cookies3Now I’m going to dive back into my homework and maybe had another snack. This week is busy! Here’s what’s on my agenda in addition to the usual weekly obligations and homework:

  • My first chemistry exam on Thursday
  • A paper due for religious studies on Friday
  • Valentine’s Day!
  • Sweetheart 5K on Saturday!

I’m ready to take it on.

Leave a Reply

