Flutes and Superbowls

What a great Sunday it has been. Superbowl Sunday is always a great day, mostly because it feels like a holiday.

I got up around 7 because I was planning to get some work done this morning, but I turned on the TV and realized the Today Show doesn’t even come on until 8! Back to sleep for me…

I had early lunch plans (more on that later) so I decided to have another light breakfast: tea and toast!

breakfast1I guess I was feeling British. Toast with orange marmalade:

marmaladeAnd Valentine’s tea! Chocolate and strawberry flavored black tea. Yum!

tea

breakfast2After breakfast, I got dressed and did a little work for Res Life. I was waiting for my parents to come to Columbia for lunch and my flute ensemble recital!

They finally got to town around 10:45, and picked up Allen and I from my residence hall. Then we headed to lunch.

My mom wanted to try a Columbia favorite: Café Berlin. I had never been, but I knew it was popular and was a bit wary of the wait on a Sunday morning. Boy, was I right about THAT.

The restaurant was tiny and definitely a local favorite. We waited in the packed restaurant for 30 minutes for a table. Once seated, I ordered a pretty tasty hot chocolate:

chocolate

The first few drinks were heavenly: mostly whipped cream. Although after a while, the chocolate and milk separated a bit and I could taste a lower-quality chocolate (syrup?) was used. Not my favorite flavor.

For brunch, I ordered the Walt waffle.

waffleIn between two waffles there was bacon, field greens, cherry tomatos, chipoltle mayo and a poached egg.

waffle2 I enjoyed this waffle quite a bit, although I believe the menu also promised avocado…I didn’t realize it until I had finished it, so I couldn’t say anything to our waitress.

All in all, I wouldn’t say this was a place I’d go back to. The menu is diverse and pretty tasty, but the wait was WAY too long and I wouldn’t want to pay their prices for this food on my own.

After brunch we headed back to campus and my parents and Allen set up shop near the campus Starbucks. I headed over for our concert warm-up at 1 p.m.

We had our first ever MU Flute Ensemble recital today, and it was really fun! I really enjoyed the pieces we played and I think the concert was the perfect length. After a two-hour rehearsal and a 45-minute concert, however, my feet were TIRED.

My parents dropped Allen and I off at my room and then we headed over to his apartment for Superbowl festivities!

CHILI CHEESE DIP!

dip1My all-time favorite sports event snack. I created my own “recipe” today.

Vegetarian Chili Cheese Dip

Serves 2.

Ingredients:

  • 8 ounces of unmentionable cheese-like product
  • 1 can chili beans in sauce

beans

  • 1 can tomatos with green chilis

maters

In a microwave-safe bowl, mix together the cheese, 1/4 cup of the tomatos with chilis and 3/4 can of beans. I used about 1/4 cup of the beans with the sauce and then drained the rest and added another 1/2 cup of beans.

Microwave on high in 1-minute increments, stirring between each minute. Continue to cook until all of the cheese is melted, 3-5 minutes.

dip3Serve with dipping vessels!

dinner2Chips, celery and carrots for me.

dip2This dip is so yummy. I ate about half of the bowl and called it dinner.

dinnerKombucha to drink.

kombuchaAnd, still waiting for me, a brownie for dessert!

brownieI’m going to get started on some homework because this game is getting out of hand. Hope you had a good Superbowl Sunday!

Leave a Reply

