Out of the Tundra

It is seriously cold here. I think today is the coldest day all year…I don’t have official word on that, but it was REALLY REALLY cold this morning.

I was up at 6:45 a.m. to get ready for my 8 a.m. chem class. I had a quick and easy breakfast:

breakfast1I did a mix of bran flakes and cinnamon “Life” with milk.

cerealBanana on the side

bananaAnd coffee to drink

coffeeAfter breakfast, I checked the weather and it was only 8 DEGREES OUT! As if that’s not bad enough, the wind chill was -2. I needed to do some serious layering, so I wore jeans with leggings underneath for some extra warmth. I think it helped a bit!

Chemistry was good, although I left later this morning and there were still a lot of people in class, so I had to sit further back than I prefer. I expected people to stop coming to class, so hopefully they’ll start next week!

I have a nice break after chemistry, so I went back to my room and immediately made some tea.

teaEarl Grey Green. I drank two cups of this during my break. I was also getting a little hungry, so I made a small snack.

snack1Graham cracker with peanut butter and Nutella. Totally delicious.

I did a little bit of studying during my break and then met Allen for lunch at 11. After lunch I walked to band, which is basically on the complete opposite side of campus from the dining hall. The unfortunate part was that band was cancelled! Our instructor told us on Tuesday but I totally forgot. It was a long and freezing walk to a cancelled class for me, and two hours before my next class. Boo.

I killed time in the library, and then went to my poli sci class, which I am still loving. We had a great debate today about whether or not Missouri should be considered a southern state. I say no way. What do you think?

After poli sci, I went back to my room and had another snack.

snack2More bran flakes

And some almonds, pumpkin seeds and a small piece of chocolate.

snack3It was a good snack! I spent some time unwinding and then Allen picked me up and we ran to Staples to get some school supplies. We had dinner with Parker and Hillary afterward, which was pretty good but the regular line was really long because it was country-fried steak day and apparently everyone is willing to wait in line forever for it. I am not one of those people.

Tonight I have no real plans. I may do some homework to get ahead, but I’m thinking I just want to relax and maybe go to bed early. I’m feeling kind of sleepy already. This cold weather is taxing. Can’t wait for next week!

Leave a Reply

