Weekday Running

Posting much later than planned because my computer is being ridiculously slow…applications aren’t loading and I had to restart which is about a ten-minute process. Needless to say I am very annoyed.

Today was sort of like the first day of classes again, because I have different classes on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays than Tuesdays/Thursdays. It was fun to have some new classes again!

My MWF are really good this semester: I’m only in class from 11-1 p.m. I got up at 7:30 a.m. to watch Parenthood from last night. It was pretty good but no big surprises for a season finale. Then I had breakfast:

breakfast2I was thinking about toast all last night, so I knew toast would be for breakfast!

toastI also had apples, which I sprinkled with cinnamon…perhaps a little too much. It was quite strong.

applesAnd some yogurt with jam. I added some honey to the yogurt because it wasn’t quite sweet enough with just the jam.

yogurtCoffee to drink. I did pumpkin spice flavor today because I wanted to get rid of it.

coffee

breakfast1After breakfast I had some time to kill, so I got ready and did a little homework to get ahead of things. I headed to class a little after 10:30 because it’s a long walk.

My 11 a.m. class was Communications Law, which seems like it will be pretty interesting. The professor is definitely engaging which I think is a MUST to talk about media law for an entire semester. I’m looking forward to it!

At noon, I had Religion in Post Civil War America, which also seems like it could be interesting. Unfortunately I was sitting in front of some journalism students who had really bad attitudes about the class in general and talked most of the class. That always frustrates me: how can you already complain on the first day? Is life that terrible for you that you have to have a bad attitude at the beginning of the semester?

I had a quick lunch at 1, which I decided to take out of the dining hall. The lines were really long, so I was strategic and only got foods that were “self-serve” so I didn’t have to wait in line.

lunch1I had a nice big portion of pasta with marinara.

pastaAnd some really delicious and perfectly-cooked brussels sprouts.

sproutsIt must have been my lucky day, because they had bread pudding from last night! I LOVE LOVE LOVE bread pudding.

bread puddingI waited exactly one hour to digest before heading out for my first run of the semester. Weekday runs always feel rushed, even when I have plenty of time to run and get showered. I set out to do 3 miles, but I’m not sure how far I ended up going because my Garmin watch decided not to pick up theĀ satellites…I hope this doesn’t happen again.

Running felt good today after three long days off. The weather was also pretty nice once I got warmed up.

After my run, I took a nice long shower and killed some time before my staff meeting. We have staff meetings on Wednesdays from 5-7 p.m. this semester. I brought snacks with me:

snackCinnamon “Life” and an unfortunately over-ripe banana. Kept me going through the long meeting!

After the meeting, I decided to throw together a small dinner in my room because I wasn’t that hungry.

dinner2Frozen green beans in the microwave with a little water to keep them from getting tough. I finished them with some butter and salt.

green beansAnd a simple PBJ on toast.

sandwichNothing special, but did the trick.

dinner1Tonight I am going to watch Nashville with Allen and then head back to my room to get ready for bed. I’ve got an 8 a.m. tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

