Forever a Foodie: My Cooking Story

Food and cooking have been a part of my life since before I can remember. And as far back as I can remember, I have fond memories of spending time in the kitchen, learning new things and creating dishes I am proud of.

img446_edited-1

This is my on my first birthday. Obviously I was into that cake.

When I was little, my mom would sign me up for cooking classes at the local grocery store. I loved these classes! We made a bunch of dishes and then everyone got to try everything.

IMG200_edited-1

Me with my cooking class loot.

There are actually a lot of pictures of me as a kid in the kitchen, cooking. Here are a few of my favorites:

img269_edited-1Baking cookies

IMG199_edited-1Making a mess

Note: If you ever see a little girl with the “bob-and-bangs” hairstyle, she stole it from me. I rocked that look. 

img456_edited-1Me and my cousin Bethany

In St. Louis, we have this children’s museum called the Magic House, and there is this area that is basically like a little town. My favorite part was ALWAYS the grocery store. Still, to this day, I love grocery shopping.

img583_edited-1

Grocery shopping with my preschool friend Christy.

One of my very first cookbooks was the “Polly Pocket Cookbook.” Polly is known for her cooking skills, after all. I made one of the recipes out of it and I was SO proud of myself.

img732_edited-1Waffles (frozen, of course) topped with strawberries. If you look closely, you can see that I in fact chopped all of the strawberries myself and mixed them up with sugar. My first success!

I also really loved that bear t-shirt. 

As I got older, I kept cooking. My aunt got me another cookbook for Christmas one year: the American Girl “Mix-it-Up” cookbook. I had a lot of fun making pizza dough from scratch (and making a HUGE mess) and attempting to make pancakes every Saturday morning.

I started watching the Food Network on a regular basis, and I was learning a lot. It became clear that cooking and food were two of my passions.

DSC00378

Cooking at Girl Scout Camp

In middle school, I also became interested in journalism. Writing and reporting are some of my strengths, and I am continuing to grow them here at the University of Missouri.

This past summer, I started to learn about nutrition as well. I read healthy living blogs like Kath Eats Real Food and Daily Garnish, and discovered how much I loved talking about healthy eating. This fall, I changed my major from watchdog journalism and political science to science and health journalism with a minor in nutrition. I can’t wait to get to take nutrition classes.

As I continue to pursue my passion for journalism, I am trying to also forge a path for myself to become a food writer. Writing about food would be the best job I could ever have. For now, blogging gives me a chance to share my passion for healthy living, food and writing. Perhaps this was my path all along:

IMG196_edited-1

One thought on “Forever a Foodie: My Cooking Story

Leave a Reply

