Chocolate Pie and Goodbyes

It’s the last day of winter break at home. I’m pretty sad and not quite ready to say goodbye to my family, but I’m doing my best to enjoy the evening.

Rewind to this morning: I was up really early because I was anxious about leaving. I already knew what I was having: pancakes with strawberries.

breakfast1I made pancakes using a whole-wheat mix I had in the pantry. I topped them with Biscoff spread and defrosted and mashed strawberries with a little sugar.

coffeeCoffee to drink.

breakfast2So good!

After breakfast, I did a little packing and took a shower and then Allen and I ran some errands. I needed to take one of my coats to a tailor to get new buttons on it, so I did that, and then we went to Sports Authority in search of a pair of lined track pants to wear over my running tights when it’s really cold.

I’d searched everywhere for the pants I wanted but couldn’t find them because I guess they’re not in style anymore. But I found a lucky pair today! Hooray!

After succeeding on my pants mission, I went home and threw together lunch:

lunch2Bagel and lox again, but this time on a pumpernickel bagel and with capers! We had some in the pantry that my dad found yesterday after I had already eaten my bagel.

bagelAnd a green smoothie with extra spinach! And milk, water, flax seed, frozen strawberries and pineapple.

smoothie

 

lunch1

 

The afternoon was relaxing: a little TV, a little reading. I made a snack of “chips and cheese” which was really baked corn tortillas with a little salt and some cheese melted on top in the microwave.

chipsAnd some kombucha. Hope I don’t forget to bring the extra bottles to school with me!

kombuchaDinner tonight was a real semi-homemade effort on my part. Super simple chicken enchiladas!

Weeknight Chicken Enchiladas

Serves 3

  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 rotisserie chicken
  • 1 jar salsa of your choice (I used a tomatillo salsa)
  • 2 cups Mexican cheese (I used queso cotija)
  • Corn tortillas

Start by pulling the chicken apart and shredding it. I used mostly white meat with a bit of dark mixed in. I mixed 3/4 of the black beans, 1/3 of the jar of salsa and about 1/2 cup of cheese together as the filling. I put about 1/4 cup of filling onto a tortilla and rolled it up and fit it into my baking dish. I ended up using seven tortillas.

Then I topped the enchiladas with the rest of the salsa and about a cup of cheese. Baked at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

enchaladas

 

enchalada1They were pretty good considering the minimal amount of work and cleanup involved. Certainly not homemade, but so simple for a weeknight or lazy night.

dinner1Served with mixed greens.

dinner2After dinner I went to the Apple store to pick up my computer! My logic board was replaced so things should go smoothly now.

Tonight I’m hanging out with the family watching HGTV and eating some chocolate silk pie. Tomorrow morning I head back to school and we start training on Wednesday afternoon. See you tomorrow!

 

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Pie and Goodbyes

Leave a Reply

