Speed Racer

Race day was finally here! I surprised myself and exceeded my goal, and now I’m exhausted and ready to tell you all about it.

I woke up at 6 a.m. to get ready to run the Creve Coeur Park 5 Mile Race. The race was organized by the Missouri Running Company, a local running store. I’ve never run a race organized by them, but I liked the date and the distance so I signed up!

Breakfast was light, because I had nerves and didn’t want to eat too much.

breakfast1Toast with vanilla almond butter:

toastClementine

clemsAnd coffee, from the Keurig that was working fine this morning!

coffee

 

breakfast2It was pitch black while I got ready this morning. Not my favorite wake-up call but I wasn’t too sleepy.

The Outfit:

clothesI decided to wear tights with shorts on top and a technical long-sleeve shirt. The weather was supposed to be in the 50s, so I figured this would be the perfect temperature. I also wore a fleece on top for before and after the race.

My mom, dad, Allen and I left the house around 7:00, which turned out to be really early! The park is about a two minute drive from our house, but we weren’t sure how big the race was going to be. We didn’t even know the course when we got there.

We parked and scoped out the start and found a race organizer to ask about the course. We ended up driving to what would end up to be a turn around point to see what it looked like. Then we returned to the start and did some warming up.

prerace1I did a short warm-up run while my mom walked a bit and then I hit the bathroom. The timing was good. I didn’t feel rushed at all. Just a little nervous!

prerace2We were ready to run!

My mom and I were the only ones running today. Allen and my Dad were our cheering squad/photographer.

The race started at 8 a.m.

startingIt was NOT a big race, and I figured out that there were only about four girls in my age group. Lucky for me I’m still in the 15-19 year old group. Going to milk that until I turn 20!

I started out A LOT faster than I originally planned. My goal was to run miles one and two at 9 min. miles, but I ended up running mile 1 at 8:07. Then I met up with one of the girls I knew was in my age group. We ran together for about a mile, but she was faster than me and I knew I couldn’t keep up for the whole race.

The turn around was at about 2.5 miles, and my dad and Allen were waiting for me.

me1I was feeling pretty good!

Here’s mom a little while later:

mom1I took water right after 3 miles, which was a good time. I walked while I drank because otherwise I think I would have coughed it all up.

Miles 3 and 4 were HARD. My leg started hurting a bit but I pushed through, and once I was at mile 5 I knew I had to finish strong!

finishMy time was 42:51. Here were my splits:

Mile 1: 8:07

Mile 2: 8:24

Mile 3: 8:41

Mile 4: 8:53

Mile 5: 8:30

My watch said the course was a smidgen too long…5.04 miles, but it was ok.

After the race I walked, jogged and stretched:

stretchFelt soooo good.

The best part of the race? TROPHIES!

trophey1My mom and I both got second in our age groups! I expected to get second but my mom was surprised. She ran just over 47 minutes, which was great considering she didn’t even think she was going to be able to run all 5 miles.

trophy3Loving on our trophies.

trophey2And with Dad:

trophey4The best part of this race was the drive home: another two minutes! I knew I had this lovely thing waiting for me:

snackPost-race doughnut, of course. Allen brought doughnuts for breakfast for my dad and him but I knew mine would taste so sweet after a great race. This one was a caramel cake donut with some milk. Perfect!

Today I’m going to do some resting and some recovery. Lots of West Wing, some football and of course food!

5 thoughts on “Speed Racer

  1. Pingback: What I’m Training For: February-March 2013 | Expeditions of Elise

  2. Pingback: 5K Test Run | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

