Anticipating the Competition

Tomorrow is my race, and I’m trying to get pumped up! I’m running a 5-mile race at what I’d consider my “home park” and I’m getting excited!

Today was an off-day for running but I still got up early because I wanted to be ready for tomorrow morning’s wake-up call. I was up at 6:45 and had a cup of tea before I made some breakfast.

Last night I almost made this oatmeal, but I waited and knew I could have it for breakfast:

breakfast1Blueberry and Cream Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup skim milk
  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  • Splash vanilla extract
  • Dash of cinnamon, to taste
  • Heavy cream, optional

To defrost the berries, I microwaved them at 30-second intervals until they were defrosted and slightly warm.

Then I microwaved the oats, milk, vanilla, maple syrup and cinnamon for about 2-3 minutes until they reached my desired texture. Feel free to cook them to your preferred oatmeal texture. I don’t like my oats to be too soupy, so I cook them longer so they hold together better.

I poured the blueberries on top and added a little heavy cream to finish for a bit of decadence.

oatsSo pretty!

coffeeThis coffee was really disappointing. I think there is something wrong with our Keurig machine, because it wasn’t brewing at the correct amounts. I thought it would be too strong so I added more milk, but it wasn’t good. Disappointing. Will have to remedy the situation for tomorrow morning!

breakfast2Breakfast wasn’t quite as filling as I had hoped, so I also had a clementine and another cup of tea after this.

I had a haircut appointment at 10, and then I went over to the running store holding the race tomorrow to pick up our bibs. I’m not sure what the course is going to be tomorrow because the guy I was talking to at the store didn’t seem to really know the park very well, and they had to make a last-minute change to the route. Should be an interesting surprise!

After I got home, I threw together a quick snack:

snackAir-popped popcorn with a little oil and sea salt I found in the pantry and some chocolate milk. Helped tide me over so I could make lunch.

lunch1I bought some premade salmon patties from the grocery store for dinner this week, but we didn’t end up making them. I thought I’d have one before they went bad!

salmonServed on a toasted whole wheat bun, spinach and a mayo-dijon sauce.

sauceGrapes on the side:

grapesAnd Earl Grey Green to drink

tea

lunch2Lunch was enjoyed with an episode of The West Wing and Allen. After we finished, we headed over to my Grandma’s house to play some games!

grandmaI love playing games with my Grandma. She used to watch me before school everyday from 3rd through 5th grades, and we would play all kinds of games. Tons of Yahtzee, Uno and Can’t Stop (a board game from the 80’s that’s no longer made…but super fun!). Today we played a few rounds of Can’t Stop and then plunged into my first ever game of Risk.

risk2This game was really fun, and I don’t know why I resisted playing for so long! It always looked so complicated but it was actually quite simple.

Allen

 

riskWe didn’t end up finishing the game because we were playing for almost 3 hours! I had to stop staring at the board and rolling dice or I was going to lose it. So we called it quits without a winner and Allen and I headed back to my house.

The weather today was warm and beautiful, so we took a walk when we got home. It was more of a dusk walk than the afternoon walk I had hoped for because we were playing for so long, but it helped me wake up from my Risk-induced coma.

I had a sweet snack during Jeopardy! after our walk.

snack2Chocolate yogurt with crumble meringue cookies again…pretty tasty!

Dinner tonight was pasta, per every pre-race tradition ever invented.

dinner1Meatball!

spaghettiAnd some salad that I perhaps over-dressed.

saladWater with lemon, the best.

water

 

dinner2Tonight I’m hoping to get in some more West Wing and then early to bed for my race! I’ll probably post tomorrow afternoon for a nice race update with how things went. Wish me luck at 8 a.m. tomorrow (actually more like 8:40 because that’s when I’ll really be feeling it!)

 

2 thoughts on “Anticipating the Competition

Leave a Reply

