Not Myself

I’m not feeling quite myself today. Ever since I woke up this morning, things have felt a little “off.” Not sure what’s going on, but I’m trying to fix it!

I slept in until 9 because I didn’t go to sleep until later than usual. I threw together a protein-packed breakfast.

breakfast1I wanted to eat something savory for breakfast this morning!

hamI grilled up some leftover ham.

eggsScrambled up two eggs with half a slice of swiss cheese.

toastAnd made some toast with almond butter and banana. The almond butter was really difficult to spread and almost ripped up my toast. I had to pop it in the microwave for a few seconds.

breakfast2After breakfast, I decided it was time to bake. I bought the ingredients for this Ginger-Spiced Pear Bread from Daily Garnish, and I had some time this morning so I decided to whip it up.

bread1This stuff is seriously amazing. If you like ginger, you’ll love this. It’s filled with little gems of ginger and pear that flavor it beautifully. The only warning is that the crystalized ginger pieces can be a bit spicy. I really liked that about it but my parents weren’t huge fans. Oh well! More bread for me!

After baking bread and stalling a lot, I finally suited up and went for my run. I was supposed to run 4 miles but was feeling quite sluggish this morning. I made it around my first 1.83 mile loop and decided to call it quits.

This week was a particularly high mileage week for me (last week before my race!) so it makes sense that my body is feeling a bit sore and tired. I’m taking tomorrow off and Monday starts my “race preparation” week with low mileage.

After my run, I was not hungry at all which is really strange. I took a long shower and still wasn’t too hungry, and had no desire to cook. Who is this girl who came and replaced me?  All I could think about was rice and beans, and how I so wanted them to appear magically in front of me. So I got the next best thing:

burrito3A giant burrito from my favorite local Mexican restaurant, Guajillo Mexican Grill.

burrito2I got black beans and steak, with tomatillo salsa, guac, lettuce and cheese. It was a bit much for my lack-luster appetite, but the flavors were satisfying. I ate about 3/4 of it.

My lunch was late, so soon after it was time for football! I’m getting so excited for tomorrow’s Colts-Ravens game and I’m eating up all the Wild Card action.

I had a late afternoon snack:

snackAnd apple and some of my delicious bread!

bread2Already can’t wait for tomorrow morning when I can have another slice for breakfast.

Eventually it was time for dinner, and I still had beans and rice on the brain and no desire to wait an hour for brown rice. There was only one place that would do: Crazy Bowls and Wraps.

dinner1I think I really perfected the “create your own” bowl tonight. This was the best I’d ever had.

I started with brown rice and beans as my protein.

beansThen I added “spicy slaw” which was not too spicy but really yummy! Added great texture to the bowl rather than bland steamed veggies.

 

slawTopped with avocado because the best things in life are! For sauce, I got the garlic ginger and something at the condiment bar called “hiyashi.” It was a sweet sesame sauce and very delicious.

dinner4Man this bowl is making me want to relive dinner. It was that good. I think this meal is helping me feel more like myself.

Tonight I’m just hanging out at home with the family. Allen is out at a movie with friends (Django Unchained…I don’t do Quentin Tarantino after a terrified viewing of Inglorious Bastards) and I didn’t make any plans because of my “off-ness.” Hoping to go to bed early and wake up refreshed and ready for tomorrow!

 

Leave a Reply

