Tea Time

I can’t believe it’s already Thursday! My brain is so confused by this break. I was convinced it was Wednesday at one point today.

I decided to wake up early today. I was up at 7 a.m. to watch the Today Show with breakfast. It was nice to get back to the routine!

I was pretty hungry for breakfast so I decided it was an oatmeal kind of day.

breakfast2Banana Nut Oats

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 small banana
  • Two dashes cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Toppings:

  • Toasted walnuts
  • Brown sugar

oatsI think my walnuts may have been a little far gone. They didn’t taste great, but they added nice texture.

coffeeServed with coffee.

breakfast1After breakfast I worked up the courage to do my workout. Today was a speed work day so I tried my best to avoid it. I ended up doing it, 8×2-minute repeats at 5K pace on the treadmill. I think I am getting in better shape because this workout was a lot easier than the last time I did repeats on the treadmill. Yay!

Don’t you wish you could be a cat?

cat

I took a shower right after my run and then got hungry for lunch! Threw this together very quickly:

lunch1Turkey and swiss on whole grain bread

turkeySalad

saladAnd a clementine

clem

lunch2I watched some TV and read a bit of Gone Girl before it was time to go to tea! I met my friends Megan and Rachel for tea at The London Tea Room. It’s one of my favorite places to go.

We all did “cream tea” which is a pot of tea served with a scone, devonshire cream and jam.

sconeBlueberry scone

jamDevonshire cream is the best stuff in the world. I need to learn how to make this at home!

teaI ordered a pot of the “Naughty Vicar” which is a black tea with vanilla and currant. SO DELICIOUS. I take my tea with milk and a little sugar.

We had a great time drinking tea and catching up. I went to high school with Megan and Rachel but they graduated a year before me and don’t go to MU so I try to catch up with them on breaks.

After tea I headed home to watch Jeopardy! and throw together some dinner.

I wanted to get creative so I tried something new!

dinner2On the menu: white bean sautée with mushrooms and spinach and potato-parsnip mash.

White Bean Sautée with Mushrooms and Spinach

beans

Serves 2 or one hungry person

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of sliced mushrooms
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 3 cups baby spinach
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 can white beans
  • 1 tbsp nutritional yeast

Start by sautéing the mushrooms in olive oil until they are brown and fragrant. Salt the mushrooms.

shroomsAdd in the garlic, chopped, and cook for 30 seconds before adding the spinach. Add 1/4 cup of water to allow the spinach to wilt down. This should only take a few minutes.

Note on seasonings:

seasoningsIf you’ve never used nutritional yeast, don’t be scared! It has a really unique “nutty-cheesy” flavor that goes great in this dish. You can buy nutritional yeast at most health food stores or Whole Foods. 

After the spinach has wilted, drain the beans and add them to the skillet. Add the rest of the spices and salt to taste. The dish is finished when all of the water has cooked out and the beans are heated through.

I also made a parsnip-potato mash, which was super easy. I just peeled and chopped two parsnips and one small Yukon Gold potato. I put them in a pot and covered them with water. I brought the water to a boil and let them cook until tender. I drained them and mashed them with milk and butter. Seasoned with salt. So yummy!

To drink I had some watered down cranberry-orange lemonade from Whole Foods.

lemonadeServed with my stainless steel straw!

strawSo fun.

This dinner was so yummy!

dinner

meHappy belly.

Tonight I’m going to do some reading and relaxing. Thinking about making some more tea…or perhaps ordering some? The Internet is great.

2 thoughts on “Tea Time

Leave a Reply

