Good Eatin’

Today was a day filled with delicious tastes. I was able to get most of everything I was craving into my belly. I call that a success.

I was up around 8 because I’m ready to get back to my early mornings! Breakfast was simple:

breakfast2Toast with avocado

toastAnd a clementine that I didn’t end up eating because it was a bad one.

clem1And coffee.

coffee

 

breakfast1After breakfast I went for my run. I wanted to wait for the afternoon when it would be warmer, but I hate having a run looming all day, so I just got it over with.

I ran 5.5 miles, 2.75 over to my grandma’s for a quick tissue and water break, and then 2.75 back home. It was pretty icy which made my stride awkward, but I think I was running around 10-minute miles. I think I accidentally left my Garmin on while I was at my Grandma’s because it said my third mile was over 14 minutes, so I don’t know my exact time.

After my run, I stretched, showered and threw together a delicious lunch.

lunch3Don’t judge a lunch by it’s photograph. This lunch was TASTY.

tofuMore breaded baked tofu. Pretty addicted to this stuff.

smoothieAnd a smoothie! In the blender:

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1/2 cup frozen pineapple
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries

Topped with coconut butter. It may not be the most beautiful smoothie, but that doesn’t matter. The pineapple added a new flavor that I loved. And I always love coconut butter.

lunch1After lunch, Allen and I went to the grocery store to get some things for the week. Notables include deli turkey and parsnips.

Then we came home and watched Jeopardy. I had this snack:

snackAged gouda and a GOOD clementine.

Dinner was ham sandwiches from yesterday’s ham. The nice thing about making a big ham after Christmas is it’s only your family around to eat it. Which means lots of leftovers.

dinner1a

hamHam on rye with dijon mustard. I also added a slice of swiss cheese after I was three bites in because I forgot to put it on!

saladBIG ol’ pile of greens. Dressed my traditional way.

Tonight is another night of winter break, which means we’re hanging out doing nothing and eating dessert. Coconut cake, anyone?

 

2 thoughts on “Good Eatin’

  1. When you make smoothies do you use fresh spinach or frozen? Oh and in case you ever wonder if you slice up bananas of your own and freeze them they will still be good 6 months later. I just found and used some banana slices I froze in a tupperware before I left to study abroad and they were delicious in my smoothie today!

    • I use fresh spinach in my smoothies. It’s also a good way to use spinach that’s probably too far gone to eat in a salad. That’s a good trick with the bananas! Thanks for the idea.

Leave a Reply

