Back to Normal

…except not really, because being in college means a super-long winter break! So today was just another day of doing nothing. Which is exactly the way I like it.

I slept in until 9 this morning because I was up late last night. I woke up starving and ready for a big breakfast: oatmeal!

breakfast2French Toast Oatmeal

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 whole banana, sliced
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 egg
  • Toppings! Jams, nut butters, granola, Biscoff…whatever you like.

Start by adding all of the ingredients except the egg into a pot. Turn the stove onto medium-high and bring the mixture to a boil. Once it starts to boil, turn down the heat to low and stir, scrapping the bottom of the pot to prevent burning.

Let the mixture cook until the banana starts to break down, and then stir vigorously to break up the slices of banana until it is difficult to find pieces of banana in the oats. Crack the egg into the hot oats and stir for two minutes to allow the egg to cook.

Finish with your favorite toppings.

oats2I chose blackberry jam and vanilla almond butter.

oats1

breakfast1Served with coffee and a lazy morning.

January 1 is a great day because there really isn’t anything going on. We always watch the Tournament of Roses Parade because it’s my mom’s favorite. I stayed in my pajamas until noon and that was just fine.

Our holiday guests left this morning and the house was quiet and calm for the first time since before Christmas. Things are getting back to normal.

Around 1:30 I became inspired to make lunch: baked tofu! I followed the basic steps from a Healthy Tipping Point recipe  but adjusted it a bit. The result was some of the most fabulous tofu I’ve ever had.

lunch1

tofuI breaded it by starting with cornstarch, then dipping it in egg, and then rolling it in a mixture of crushed wheat Chex, garlic salt and chili powder. The flavor and texture were just phenomenal.

ketchupI mixed ketchup and sriracha for a spicy dipping sauce!

saladServed with greens dressed in olive oil, lemon and agave.

And of course, clementines.

clems

lunch2Quite the satisfying lunch.

After lunch, there was more lounging and some napping. A little snacking:

snackA coconut date bar and tamari roasted almonds from the Whole Foods bulk bins. So good!

And I picked up this guy for my run tomorrow:

iPodA little Christmas gift to myself. Should make my long runs better and I won’t have to carry my phone which is great.

Dinner was almost like Christmas all over again. Or what we would have eaten for Christmas Eve if we didn’t have lobster.

ham3Ham! My dad bought a ham for Christmas eve that turned into New Years that turned into tonight.

ham1Studded with cloves.

ham2Topped with a pineapple glaze and baked in the oven at 350 for about three hours.

dinner1Dinner was kind of a mishmash of what we had on hand.

potatosMashed sweet potatoes from frozen chopped sweet potatoes we had in the freezer.

chokeThis guy. Mr. Choke. I bought him on a whim but have decided that artichokes are not my favorite. Oh well.

butterThe lemon butter sauce was pretty tasty.

ham4And of course, ham.

kombuchaKombucha on the side. I spilled this all over the couch and Allen after dinner, so that was fun.

dinner2And the best part of Christmas Eve a few days late:

cake1Coconut cake. My grandma usually makes this for Christmas eve, but she didn’t this year and we were all sick and just never got around to it. So here it is now.

cake2Iced with whipped cream and topped with LOTS of coconut. I’m about to go get myself a slice.

Tomorrow my dad goes back to work. Thursday my brother and mom start school again. I, on the other hand, have another two whole weeks before I head back to school. It’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

