Snowy running, had me a blast

It’s been one of those days when everything seems to work out well…things are timed right and nothing is rushed. I’ve done a lot while still having a leisurely day.

I was up a little before 8 because Allen and I were planning to do some shopping this morning. I started off with a pretty simple breakfast:

breakfast1I had to use the other half of my avocado from yesterday. Fun tip: if you have a Food Saver, you can vacuum-seal half of an avocado if you leave the pit in and it will stay bright green!

avocadoServed over toast.

appleDarcey brought some Strawberry Hill Povitica, which is a sort of layered bread. This one was apple cinnamon flavor and pretty good.

clemsClementine, as always.

coffeeAnd hazelnut coffee.

breakfast2While I was eating breakfast, I was working on figuring out my day. I knew I needed to run six miles, but I also wanted to go to the mall and spend some of my gift cards from Christmas.

So the questions became: what time do I need to get home to have time to run? What could I eat for lunch that wouldn’t make me throw up during my run? Would it get colder later this afternoon?

While I was pondered, it started to snow! I started to get antsy and worried about getting my run in, so I decided to just go for it. I set out around 9:30 for my Grandma’s house as my half-way destination.

snowMy run in the snow was really great. It was cold for about the first mile, and once I got going I felt great. I didn’t push my pace, and managed to go 10-minute miles the whole way. The only bad part was the snow in my eyes.

At my grandma’s, I stopped for some water, ate three gummy worms and had a quick chit-chat before setting out again. I probably stopped for about 20 minutes.

There is something magical about running in the snow. I ran without music and sometimes the silence was just beautiful. I only saw a few other runners, and it was great.

After my long run, I earned a reward!

milkFull-fat chocolate milk! Yum.

I had a nice stretch in front of the fireplace and then took a nice warm shower. Then it was lunchtime.

smoothieSmoothie in a bowl! The mix:

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 1/2 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 tbsp flax seed

Topped with coconut butter. The perfect post-run meal.

After a bit of lounging around, Allen and I headed to the mall to do some shopping! I got two sweaters and a cute bag at New York and Company with my gift card, and I still had money left over. Nice deal!

We hit all of the regular stores, including a disappointing trip to Teavana where they were out of nearly every tea. I wanted to get some jasmine dragon pearls with my gift card. I’ll have to wait.

Allen and I went to Whole Foods next, and had a great time sampling some delicious foods and buying everything that looked good 😛

Some of my favorites included dried turkish figs:

figAnd kombucha! I tried a new flavor: hibiscus. It’s pretty good!

kombuchaThere were chips and dip:

snackGuac and spinach and artichoke dip

And homemade clam chowder for dinner! My dad did a good job.

chowda

 

dinnerHe also made coconut cake! We get to eat it tomorrow. It’s a basic white cake that’s so moist it almost tastes like angel food cake.

cake

 

cake2He iced it with whipped cream and tops with fresh (frozen) coconut. It has to sit in the fridge overnight but we get to eat it tomorrow!

Tonight Allen and I are going to play games with my grandma. I’m bringing Yahtzee and Qwirkle. Also, snapped this from the paper this morning so you can all write it into your schedule:

football

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

