The Cold Keeps on Coming

It has been a very cold day here in Missouri! Even inside I’ve found myself snuggling under blankets and sitting by the fireplace.

I slept in this morning which was lovely. I was up around 9 a.m. and ready for breakfast! Last night I bought one of my all-time favorite foods at the grocery store: avocados! I had to have one for breakfast:

breakfast1Toast with avocado! It’s like butter but WAY better.

toastServed with a clemintine…a “Cutie” to be exact.

clemI must’ve bought a bad bag because these were NOT good clementines. We ended up tossing the bag and picking up some more at the grocery store later.

coffeeHazelnut coffee to drink.

breakfast2I finished The Perks of Being a Wallflower with breakfast. I LOVED the book and can’t wait to see the movie. Unfortunately it’s in “movie limbo” between the theaters and movie release. I’ll have to keep watching for it.

After breakfast we went over to the camera store to check out some lenses and sign up for a class. I’m still learning about my new camera and I had some questions for the camera guys, but the one that helped us was not very nice. Last time we went, my dad and I got to work with a super helpful employee and it was disappointing to work with someone else. But I did sign up for a class next Thursday! Can’t wait.

After class we hit the grocery store and then headed home for lunch. I threw something together quickly:

lunch1Quinoa Scramble

  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • A handful of cherry tomatos
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tbsp goat cheese

I sauteed the spinach and garlic together, then added the tomatos. I then added the quinoa from last night and heated it up a bit before added the eggs. I let them scramble up and melted in the goat cheese. Done!

 

 

quinoaServed with a side of bread.

bread1

 

lunch2After lunch, I had a relaxing afternoon watching It’s a Wonderful Life with Allen. He is finally getting sick like the rest of his family and mine, and wasn’t feeling great. He napped while I watched! Then I went for a FREEZING 3-miler.

I guess I didn’t check the windchill, because it was only 29 degrees, which isn’t that bad for running, but I was so cold at the end that I ran the last .1 mile after my 3 miles were over instead of walking for my cool down.

The cold made me run FAST because I averaged 9:07 min/mile. I’m getting faster every run!

After my run I took a lukewarm shower because my brother Ryan is a hot water hog and always sucks all of the hot water out of the shower. Then it was snack time!

smoothieCan’t get enough of this smoothie in a bowl business, even though it’s cold. I LOVE the coconut butter treat!

In the blender:

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup frozen strawberries
  • 1/2 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/3 cup plain yogurt

Then I added two tablespoons of coconut butter, melted in the microwave and poured on top!

After my snack, which I ate in front of the fireplace because it was so cold, Allen and I finished up It’s a Wonderful Life, which was great as always. Then we played some Yahtzee! I won.

Dinner was more of a tasting plate, which was perfect.

Lots of cheese!

cheese1

 

parmParm!

manchegoManchego!

goudaSmoked gouda

cranSomething (I think cheddar) with lots of dried cranberries throughout.

breadPlenty of bread

garlicAnd roasted garlic! I spread this on the bread with some butter and it was AMAZING.

dinner2I had a little of everything.

dinner1And added a clementine from our new batch. So much better!

Tonight I’m hanging out with Hannah because it’s the last chance I get to see her this winter break! We are going to get our Gilmore Girls on.

 

Leave a Reply

