Home Again

Today has been a long day with too much of it spent in the car. But I’m home!

I was up early this morning because we wanted to get on the road as soon as possible. The goal was to be on the road by 9 a.m.

We left Allen’s aunt’s house at 8 a.m. and dropped his brother off at their grandparents. Then we headed to Bread Co for a quick breakfast.

bagel2Chocolate chip bagel and cream cheese for breakfast. I wanted a treat for our last day.

coffeeCoffee for a long ride home.

breakfastWe filled up with gas and were on the road before 9, which was a success. The next 6 hours went by pretty quickly…

signsIndianapolis! Someday I’ll get to see a game at this beautiful stadium:

stadiumI started driving after Indianapolis, and we only stopped one other time for a bathroom break during the whole trip. We packed snacks for the ride: peanut butter sandwiches, pretzels and bananas and extra bagels picked up at breakfast. It was nice not to stop by I wasn’t exactly eating my best.

I got home around 1:30, which was even better than my best-case-scenario. I brought in my stuff and then psyched myself up enough to go on a much-needed run!

Because of the snow in Ohio I wasn’t able to run while I was there, but I finally got to get out the door this afternoon. I ran 3 miles at a 9:25 pace which was really great for me! I felt good to be back running.

Because of my lack of lunch, I was starving after my run. All I could think about was this stuff in the pantry:

coconutCoconut butter! I asked for it for Christmas. So yummy.

I made a smoothie as a snack. In a bowl so I could take advantage of my new treat:

SIABMango-orange smoothie with oats, milk and chia. Topped with coconut butter “magic shell.” I finished every last drop. Can’t get enough of this stuff!

I took a nice long shower after my snack and then Allen and I hit the grocery store! I had a fun dinner planned for myself to refuel on the nutrients I’d been lacking.

squashI started with some roasted acorn squash. I put it in the toaster over at 375 degrees for about 30 minutes with olive oil and brown sugar.

Added to a salad!

saladSpinach and spring mix, quinoa, dried cranberries, parm and a slice of bacon crumbled. All topped with olive oil and balsamic vinegar.

sodaWe also picked up some of these sodas at the store. I really like it!

dinnerTonight I’m going to watch Mizzou play UCLA! I hope we win. I love college basketball! I may also check out some of the Quinn Popcorn I got for Christmas…I’m thinking lemon and sea salt sounds delicious. And of course Christmas candy!

Leave a Reply

