A Day of Good Food

Today has been filled with some seriously good eats. Unfortunately it didn’t involved Alton Brown, but other than that it was a good day.

I was up really early because I told Allen I would go with him to pick out new glasses frames. His appointment was in the morning so we had to leave my house at 8 a.m. The 6:30 a.m. darkness greeted me.

I knew I wanted to have a smoothie for breakfast today, so I decided to try a smoothie with oats in it for the first time! It was AMAZING. Seriously.

blenderIn the blender:

  • 1/2 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 dash cinnamon

Blended until smooth and creamy. So good!

SIABI put come coconut butter on the top. If you’ve never tried it and love coconut, GO GET SOME NOW. It’s expensive, but I bought a little packet to try and it was amazing. It’s just coconut mixed until it forms a butter consistency. It is pure coconut flavor. I asked for the $10 jar for Christmas so hopefully you’ll be seeing more SIAB with coconut butter coming up soon.

After breakfast, Allen and I headed to the eye doctor. It didn’t take too terribly long, and he got some new frames. Then we hoped over to the mall to do some Christmas shopping! I got exactly what I was looking for and I am REALLY excited about the present I bought today. I also got my December Godiva truffle. Coconut was on my mind today so I got a coconut truffle! Saved for later.

After the mall, we did lunch at Whole Foods! I needed some shampoo, and since I buy the 365 brand, we figured we’d also get lunch while we were there.

Note on 365 shampoo, conditioner and body wash: I really like it. It’s the first shampoo I’ve used that doesn’t weigh my hair down. I have stick-straight hair and the WF shampoo is perfect for it. I use the mint shampoo and conditioner and the lavender body wash. Although there are not a lot of scents to choose from, I like it that way because then I can use the lotion of my choice.

Lunch was from the hot bar, and since there were still breakfast offerings, I got huevos rancheros, home fries (my weakness!), a cheese blintz, a big pile of steamed kale and some bread pudding. May not have been my most nutritious lunch but it was YUMMY. I also had some strawberry lemonade Allen and I shared.

After lunch, we went to MY eye doctor to pick up my contacts and then came home and finished the rest of Pirates of the Caribbean from yesterday. Then it was time to run!

I ran 4.5 miles at the park today. It was kind of a hard run, but mostly for lack of motivation I think. I felt fine and ran in under 10-minute miles, so that was good. I just wasn’t really in the mood to run. But I got it done and felt good after.

I also felt HUNGRY! I had a little snack when I got home during my stretch:

blueMORE frozen blueberries. Ate ’em right out of the freezer.

Post-run cereal snack:

snackWith milk.

I lounged around it bit and then made dinner. This one was a craving from a few nights ago: tomato soup and grilled cheese!

I used a recipe from Ina Garten for the soup, and it was delicious as expected.

soup1In the pot I cooked an onion for about 15 minutes, then added garlic for 1 minute. After that, I added a can of crushed tomatos and chicken stock. I let that cook for a while.

orzo11/2 cup of cooked orzo, into the pot.

orzo2Soup was finished with some heavy cream because it’s delicious and worth it.

Served with cheesy toasts! Since we bought our new toaster oven, I use it as much as possible.

cheeseGruyere beacuse it’s the BEST melting cheese. That is beautiful pile of cheese.

dinner1

toastsCheesy toasts were perfect to dip into the soup!

saladSalad for some greenery.

soup2

dinner2I’m a little hungry after dinner, so I may get myself another snack. Oh, and that truffle from earlier…yeah, that too.

Leave a Reply

