Time Begins Moving

Today was a good day, but I can’t shake this looming feeling that always hits at the end of holiday breaks. I’m not ready to go back to school. I wish I could have another few weeks of vacation, without any responsibilities. I am counting down to winter break anxiously.

I started out this morning with a simple breakfast:

 

Plain yogurt with chia and banana. Classic.

Buttered toast

French toast coffee

Today I had to take my computer to the Apple store for the SECOND time this break. The track pad wasn’t working and I was desperately afraid the repair would be longer than 24 hours, which would be a huge mess because I’m back at school tomorrow.

Luckily, they were able to make the repair in the store and it only took an hour! It was wonderful. Now I have a fully-functioning trackpad.

My dad and I picked up lunch on the way home from my favorite Mexican restaurant! Guajillo Mexican Grill

It’s a local restaurant, which was perfect for Shop Small Saturday! I got a black bean quesadilla with lots of toppings.

 

 


I got pico de gallo, guacamole and tomatillo salsa. Delicious!

After lunch, I piddled around a bit while I waited for digestion, and then I went to the park for a run!

I wanted today to be a nice long run, not too hard. I set out on a loop that was about 4.6 miles knowing I could stop there if I wanted to. I also had an extra mile loop ready if I was feeling good.

My run was good and bad. I was feeling pretty stiff but I was really enjoying the alone time. This was one of those “running makes me feel strong” kinds of runs. About halfway through I stopped to get something out of my shoe and saw that my toe was bleeding! Not good. I pushed on.

I parked by some soccer fields, so when I got to the 4.6 mile point I decided to run around the fields to get to 5 miles.

I finished my 5 miles in 50:19. Not super fast, but not super slow. I was feeling pretty sore by the end, so it’s a good thing I’ve got two rest days ahead.

After my run, I came home and recovered and showered, then headed over to see Hannah!

Hannah is my best friend from high school and she goes to college at Montana State University, so I don’t get to see her very often. She had just gotten back from Thanksgiving camping with her family, and I went over to visit.

We watched an old “action sports” skiing movie that I don’t know the name of, and it was really fun. She leaves for Montana at 6 tomorrow morning, which is too early for me. Can’t wait to see her again over winter break.

After visiting with Hannah, I came home and made an easy dinner: black bean-quinoa burgers. I used this Runner’s World recipe.

Started with a can of black beans, 1/2 cup of cooked quinoa, cumin, smoked paprika, dijon and nutritional yeast in a bowl.

If I made these again, I would mash the beans up separately to make sure the burgers really stick together.

Formed into four patties.

Cooked in a pan with some olive oil until golden brown, then flipped.

I added two slices of swiss cheese to each of the burgers my mom and I had.

This meal was really good!

I topped my burger with a pile o’ baby spinach.

And some of this Trader Joe’s tapenade I found in the pantry:

I had this squash on the side:

Remember how I said I was roasting butternut squash for Thanksgiving? Well this is the result of that. While I was seasoning the squash, I accidentally poured WAY too much pumpkin pie spice into the squash. It was still edible, but not quite servable. I didn’t mind it too much tonight though! Probably all the brown sugar I mixed in…

Pickles! Great Aunt Carolyn made these:

This was probably one of the better meals I’ve had this week.

Tonight I’ve got some emails to send and a bit of work to do before I go home tomorrow. Allen is coming in late from Ohio, but I might get to see him if I don’t fall asleep. Oh, and one of these pumpkin whoopie pies are in my future:

 

Leave a Reply

