Rest and Recovery…sort of

Today, the day after Thanksgiving, was a day of rest and recovery. Recovery from my race and recovery from a big ‘ol meal.

I started the day with some french toast:

Banana-walnut french toast, to be exact.

I used two slices of french bread dipped in a mixture of two scrambled eggs, milk, vanilla and brown sugar.

Topped with bananas cooked in a little dab of butter with brown sugar until they got all gooey and golden brown.

And some toasted walnuts that never made it into yesterday’s brussels sprouts.

Egg nog coffee in the wrong mug (I only like to put tea in here usually.)

After breakfast, my dad and I went to a local camera store to check out some DSLRs. I’ve been using my dad’s for now but I’m hoping to get one of my own for Christmas. We looked at a Nikon 3100 and 5100, a Canon T3I and a Pentax K30. I really liked the Pentax the best, so hopefully Santa will be nice to me this year!

After lunch, I did a short 2ish mile run around my neighborhood. It was SO windy and it was chilling me to the bone. I was happy to be running a recovery run, slow and steady. After that I did some strength training: some planks and upper body work with 10-pound free weights. It wasn’t very fun; I don’t like strength training. But I know it helps keep me injury-free, so I’m going to try to stick with it.

After a quick shower, it was lunch time…or leftovers time:

I made up a plate of Thanksgiving part 2, which was pretty good, but not quite the “recovery” I was going for. Oh well, Thanksgiving leftovers only come once a year and I wanted to take advantage!

I had to go get more cranberry sauce at the grocery store because we ran out. Turkey is WAY better with cranberry sauce!

A side salad of spinach, roasted pumpkin seeds, pomegranate and lemonade dressing.

After lunch, I did some blogging and then headed over to Grandma’s (on my mom’s side) house with Ryan. We hung out and watched some football for a little while. It was nice to see her again after a long time away.

Ryan and I braved Kohl’s on the way home because I wanted another box of the holiday coffee K-cups for my Keurig. We bought two boxes: one for home and one for me, plus a bag of peppermint bark because why not? Excited to drink more holiday coffee đŸ™‚

Dinner was a disputed sweet potato turkey hash. My dad and I wanted it…no one else did. So we made some!

Started with five sweet potatoes cut up into a small dice.

Then my dad chopped up an onion, celery and garlic.

Garlic, onion and celery into a pan with hot olive oil.

While that cooked, we chopped up some turkey leftovers:

Sweet potatoes into the pan:

Then we added about 2 cups of vegetable stock.

We covered the potatoes and let them cook for about 10 minutes. Then we added turkey and about two cups of frozen peas.

Deeeelicious.

What did you have today with your Thanksgiving leftovers?

Leave a Reply

