Thanksgiving Preparations

Thanksgiving is tomorrow! Only one more sleep! I’m very excited about this.

One thing I’m NOT excited about is that Allen left for Ohio today for Thanksgiving with his family. I wish we could spend Thanksgiving together.

This morning I woke up to some crazy fog. It looked like a scene out of a horror movie:

That’s the view from our street. You can’t even see the end of it, but it’s actually right after those trees!

Allen came over early this morning for breakfast since he was leaving this afternoon. We made pancakes that turned out much better than expected:

We used a whole-wheat pancake mix which I have only used once before. I actually really like the flavor of the mix, but I think I need to let them cook a little less. I’m terrible at making pancakes! I’ve always been this way. Ask my little brother: he used to eat my under-cooked pancakes as a child on weekend morning. I get nervous that they aren’t cooking through, but with the whole-wheat mix the pancakes don’t need as long to cook.

In any event, I covered these bad boys up with some heated up frozen strawberries:

I topped the pancakes with crunchy Biscoff spread! The jar was almost empty, which was pretty lame. We need to get some more ASAP!

Coffee on the side.

This breakfast kept me full until really late in the afternoon! I was cooking up lots of Thanksgiving sides ahead of time: roasted butternut squash, brussels sprouts and roasted pumpkin seeds.

The other two recipes aren’t finished yet, but my pumpkin seeds are delicious!

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup peptitas (shelled pumpkin seeds; you can find these in the bulk aisle at the grocery store)
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 2 tsp salt

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. In a small bowl, mix the seeds with the oil and spices. Pour the seeds onto a small baking dish.

Put the seeds in the oven for 10 minutes, or until you can smell them roasting. Your nose will know when they are done! But if you don’t trust it, trust the timer.

These pumpkin seeds were even more delicious than I expected.

You can bet I ate more than one handful of these guys.

I was cooking all afternoon, and I didn’t even get hungry until about 2! I quickly made lunch with one of these delicious guys:

I LOVE Trader Joe’s smoked trout! It sounds gross, but it doesn’t taste fishy at all. Just really meaty and smokey. I turned it into a salad.

I mixed the smoke trout with carrot, red bell pepper, mayo, dijon mustard and salt. Served over baby spinach with pomegranate.

It was good, but really filling. I don’t know where my appetite has been recently.

Still, a yummy lunch.

Finished with this beauty:

Mini pumpkin whoopie pie with a maple filling. OH MY GOSH. Amazing.

Tomorrow is my first-ever Thanksgiving Turkey Trot! I haven’t run a 5K since high school and am getting a little nervous. I’m going to run my hardest and not worry about the time, because I honestly don’t know where I should be aiming at this point. Hoping for the best! Dinner tonight is pasta from Fazoli’s, then early to bed.

Have a great Thanksgiving eve!

One thought on “Thanksgiving Preparations

  1. Pingback: Time Begins Moving | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

