Finally Home


That’s right, I’m finally home, and couldn’t be happier. I was up early this morning getting breakfast with my hall coordinator, and forgot to take pictures!

I had a pumpkin bagel with honey walnut cream cheese, a banana and coffee. It was de-licious. After breakfast, Kalen and I did some quick room checks and then we were released to go home! The ride was about an hour and 45 minutes, and then I was home!

Lunch was piecemeal-ed together because there wasn’t much to eat here! My dad and I went grocery shopping later, but I was too hungry to wait. Thrown-together salad:

On-its-last-legs bagged romaine (that actually tasted pretty good), cherry tomatoes, goat cheese and eggs on top, dressed with olive oil, fresh orange juice and a squirt of agave.

I tried to keep the yolks whole, but broke them both times. Oh well! It was still good.

I think my favorite part of this salad was the dressing! Oil+fresh citrus+agave+salt is the BEST way to dress a salad.

After lunch, I went to the grocery store with Dad. We were doing Thanksgiving shopping as well as shopping for the week. We filled up TWO carts by the end! But I got some good stuff, including a pomegranate!

Pomegranates are one of my favorite fruits. They’re so yummy, and beautiful, and one of the only fruits best in the fall/winter. They may look intimidating, but they’re pretty easy to cut up. Just cut the top off, make a cut about halfway through, and then pull it apart in a bowl of water.

The pom skin will float to the top and the good stuff, called arils, will sink to the bottom. Just skim off this icky stuff and you’re left with a jewel-like fruit!

I just think they’re beautiful. I had to have them for a snack!

Plain yogurt with pomegranate, a drizzle of honey and two of these great chocolate-dipped gingerbread men!

They were crumbled into the mix after posing for these photos. Sorry guys!

Enjoyed with the December issue of Everyday with Rachael Ray.

I spent my afternoon reading and watching football (the Colts were not playing well…) and then it was time for dinner. I made a soup recipe I’ve been wanting to try for a while.

White Beans and Greens Soup from Kath Eats Real Food. It was delicious!

Started with bacon browned in the pot, then removed except for the fat. Then I tossed in chopped carrots and red bell pepper.

After they cooked, I added two cups of canned white beans, herbs, garlic and water. Brought it to a boil, then used the immersion blender to get it smooth. (If you’ve never used an immersion blender, it’s like a blender blade on a stick! Really fun.)

Once the soup was smooth, I added the rest of the beans and some frozen kale. I let it cook and seasoned with plenty of salt. I finished it off with the bacon and some lemon juice and zest.

Lemon is one of my favorite flavors!

Dinner was served with plenty of bread:

And REAL butter (I was feeling it):

It was a delicious meal!

Tonight, I’m going to watch Next Iron Chef with my dad and maybe break into that dark chocolate-sea salt-caramel bar I bought at Trader Joe’s…

3 thoughts on “Finally Home

  1. Pingback: Movies and Munchies | Expeditions of Elise

Leave a Reply

