Almost Homeward-Bound

Happy Saturday! I thought I’d give you a few photos from last night since I posted before all the fun began.

Mizzou Arena!

Allen and I went to the Mizzou vs. Nicholls St. basketball game last night. It was fun! We won, of course. This was my first game of the season, which is always super exciting.

Allen and I at the game. Note that neither of us knew where to look for this photo…oh well!

After the game, Allen and I stopped at Steak and Shake for some food. I got an egg nog milkshake! I didn’t take a picture, but it was delicious. I usually need one of those each year to satisfy my craving.

After Steak and Shake, we watched an episode of The West Wing before I got sleeeepy and went to bed. It’s been too long since I’ve watched West Wing. Need to get back into the habit.

I slept hard last night and woke up feeling lazy, but that was fine because the only thing I needed to do today was go for a run! I was up at 8:30 and watched Food Network all morning. And I ate this pre-run breakfast:

Whole-grain toast, peanut butter, honey and a banana. Plus some coffee on the side.

Toast close-up.

Bear close-up.

Food Network has Thanksgiving specials on this weekend, which is getting me SUPER excited for Thanksgiving. I can’t wait! After watching lots of cooking shows, I finally got read to run around 10:15.

Pre-run close-up.

I had an awesome run! Well, that’s not exactly true. I ran four miles, and when I was done I felt GREAT. But the journey there was kind of difficult. My side was a-stitchin’ after a mile, and it stuck with me for another mile. But miles three and four were better, and I finished strong! 40:00 exactly. Whoo!

After that, I stretching outside in the sun and then headed back to my room. A quick shower and a bit of primping and I was ready for lunch.

Kalen and I went to the dining hall for a quick lunch. There wasn’t much to eat that appealed to me, so I had two slices of pizza. They were just ok.

Sausage-onion and white veggie. Meh.

I also ate this orange, and it was pretty good:

After lunch, I went back to my room and took a nap. It was a great nap! I slept for 45 minutes and then my alarm went off, and then I went back to sleep for another 45 and woke up on my own. I guess what they say about sleep cycles is true! They must be somewhere between 30-45 minutes for me.

Tonight’s dinner is just pizza provided by Res Life because all of the dining halls are closed. Then the football game! I hope we win. This has not been a great season for Mizzou. (I don’t really like college football because I think it’s silly that there is no real play-off system and NO, a four-team playoff does not appease me. College basketball all the way!)

Tomorrow I head home in the morning. Couldn’t be more excited!

5 thoughts on “Almost Homeward-Bound

  1. Hey! That was you with Hannah in that photo behind the honey bear, wasn’t it? Was that prom? I think I recognize the red dress 🙂
    Do they close campus for the whole week now, and give you all several days off of classes? I remember that for my freshman year, I went home on Saturday, too, and took the whole week, off, skipping classes Monday and Tuesday (and I got stomach flu, so I felt like I was being punished :))

Leave a Reply

