First Thanksgiving

Today has been pretty good, despite having a lot of work to do over the next two days. I got a lot of stuff done that I’ve been putting off and that always feels great!

Had a pretty lazy morning since I didn’t have to take a shower. I had a festive fall-inspired breakfast.

Baked Apple Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1/3 cup quick-cooking oats

1/3 cup milk (I used almond milk today)

1/3 cup water

1 tsp chia seeds

1 small banana

1 apple, diced A small pairing knife is prefect for this, and easy to store and clean in a dorm room. 

Pumpkin pie spice, to taste I keep pumpkin pie spice in my room because it has a mixture of cinnamon, cloves and nutmeg, so you get all the flavors without having to keep each individual spice.

Mix together all of the ingredients in a microwave-safe bowl. Microwave on high for two minutes. Stir vigorously to break up the banana. Microwave for two more minutes, or until oatmeal reaches desired thickness.

The oatmeal will be very hot after cooking, but the extra time is necessary to cook the apple, so let cool until it is ready to eat.

Oats with a side of coffee and a leisurely morning with the Today Show. Per usual.

My day got pretty busy once my first class started. On Wednesdays I have class from 10-12:50, and I usually eat lunch after, but today I didn’t have time because I had to complete a project for Res Life. I packed a peanut butter and banana sandwich, an apple and some almonds for lunch. Not the greatest, but I knew I needed to run this afternoon, so I didn’t want to eat anything too heavy.

I worked for an hour and a half in the student staff office (where they have all the bulletin board supplies) and then rushed back to my hall to get in a quick run. And a QUICK run it was!

Today I was supposed to run 1.5 miles at race pace. The only problem is I haven’t run a real race since high school, so I don’t know what my race pace is anymore! I’ve sort of been running my race pace runs just really hard, but I hope I’m not going out too fast.

My goal for this 5K is to break 26:00, which meant I should have run my 1.5 miles at 12:31. Much to my surprise, I completed it in 11:35!

I’m concerned that I won’t be able to keep up this pace on race day, so I’ll likely go out conservatively and see how I feel. But, who knows? I’m in the mood to race FAST. I’m going to run as hard as I can that day, and see what that gets me.

After my run, I took a quick shower and got ready for my weekly Learning Community meeting. I am a part of the Journalism and Communications LC in my hall, and we meet weekly to plan events. Before I left, I had a tuna sandwich because I was HUNGRY:

After the meeting, we had First Thanksgiving!

All of the dining halls were serving Thanksgiving specialties for dinner. I had turkey with cranberry sauce, mashed potatoes, dressing and sweet potatoes. It was pretty good, but nothing like REAL Thanksgiving. I didn’t have any pie because it’s not worth my bite! May have something sweet later.

Dinner was fun, and I ate with some of my staff members, including my floor partner Kalen!

Floor partner Thanksgiving!

He’s about a foot (maybe more) taller than me. Can’t you tell?

Tonight I am doing homework and watching Criminal Minds and Nashville. My poli sci paper is due Friday, so I need to get started!

2 thoughts on “First Thanksgiving

  1. Oooh! I can’t wait for turkey dinner next week! (Though it’s so much work to put together.) It will also be my first anniversary that weekend 🙂 Good luck on your paper (I hated the stress of writing papers!).

Leave a Reply

