Sometimes, you have a bad run

This was going to be a post chronicling how I started a run unmotivated and tired and finished invigorated. It’s not going to be that post.

Today was an alright day. It started out fine, but then became kind of crummy. And by crummy, I mean “Everything makes me cry” kind of emotions. Things were not great.

I had to run four miles as part of my 5K training, but I did not want to. I was exhausted at 1 p.m. when I was supposed to head out, and I could barely get myself out the door. But I did, and I went to the trail, and I ran two miles out and two miles back.

You’ve got to start somewhere, and this afternoon, I started here.

My run wasn’t that bad  but it felt slow. I ended up running at about 10-minute mile pace, which really isn’t that slow for my long run, but I just felt like I was plodding along. There were times when I wanted to crawl into bed in the middle of my run. That’s not supposed to happen.

This field was my “turn-around” point, and it actually made me feel a bit better.

There were a few things that kept me going during this run. I had to make myself a few promises:

  • If I ran the first two miles without stopping, I could stop to take photos on the way back.
  • I had no “set pace.” If I was hurting, I could slow down. (I kind of broke this one at the end because I just wanted to be done.)
  • After my run, I could eat a banana and some graham crackers. (I was hungry.)

My favorite bridge on this course. On the four-mile out-and-back, I passed four bridges!

These promises helped me through, but afterward I was feeling icky. Sore, sleepy and nauseous/hungry. It was not good. I ate the banana and the graham crackers. They didn’t really help. I was nauseous all through The Maneater budget/workshop. I took a nap after. Still feeling tired. BLECH.

Now that I’m done, I can’t really say “I’m glad I did it.” This is odd, because I almost always feel better after a run. Hopefully I’ll feel better tomorrow and when I run again on Sunday.

One thought on “Sometimes, you have a bad run

  1. My husband reminds me of this all the time: sometimes you have a bad run. A lot of that is dependent on how you define a bad run, of course. Sometimes your body wants a slower run, when you wanted to go faster. Or a shorter run, when you wanted to go longer. Gotta let go of expectations, to a degree. But feeling icky and ill makes for a rotten run regardless. I hope you feel better soon. Love the pics.

Leave a Reply

