Food blogger?

I love food. I think about it all the time. My Twitter feed is full of my ramblings about food. I obsessively read several healthy food blogs (KERF and Daily Garnish are my favorites!) When I go home for a weekend, I plan out my opportunities to make some really good food, because I don’t get that chance very often living on campus. I think ideally my days would be spent at the grocery store, exploring products and coming up with interesting ways to use them. How I would give absolutely anything to prepare all of my meals, breakfast, lunch and dinner. 

I’ve been cooking since I was about 12 years old. I remember my aunt bought me the American Girl’s “Mix It Up” cookbook, which had variations on simple recipes such as french toast, pancakes and pizza. I loved it, and made recipes almost every weekend, forcing half-cooked pancakes on my little brother, who, to this day, swears they were “delicious.” (Mmmm raw pancake batter…?)

When my parents would leave me home alone, I would get to the kitchen and experiment. I’m not sure why I was so secretive about my interest in cooking at first. Maybe I didn’t want anyone to see my failures or maybe my father’s Danny Tanner-style house was so pristine that I just KNEW he would catch me if I made a mess. I’ve been cooking since middle school and haven’t slowed down since.

In high school, I would cook dinner on a fairly regular basis. I have my own knives at home. I have a favorite stirring spoon. Cooking is one of the most exciting things I do. It’s a release from a hectic life but also an acceptable way to spend my time because, well, we have to eat. 

But once I came to college, I was crippled by the residential life setting. Eating in dining halls was fun for a while, but as I continue my second year on campus as a peer advisor, I’m itching to get back into the kitchen. I yearn to buy bunches of greens for salads, experiment with breakfast smoothies and test out some of the health-eating recipes I see on my favorite blogs. But, alas, I am at the mercy of the dining halls most of the time, and can only prepare what I can cook in my microwave or rice cooker (which, without a stovetop or sink, is mostly just rice.)

I do, however, think perhaps this blog could transform itself into a food blog of sorts. When I started it, that was my first thought for what my theme should be. I think about food enough, so why can’t I blog about it? But the problem is food blogs get so repetitive. Those of us who live in the food blogging world KNOW that you don’t want to read the same thing over and over again. So if I’m going to do this, I’d need an angle.

And I think I’ve found one: healthy eating as a college student. I may not be perfect, but I think I do a pretty good job. I’m fascinated by nutrition and how I can incorporate healthy foods into my life. So let’s see where this new theme goes. Who knows? It could be come something big. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

