You’re listening to Expeditions of Elise on WordPress.com…

I’ve had a new thought on my career path: radio. I’ve always known I wanted to be a journalist, and for the longest time I thought writing was the way to go. Work in a newsroom, do the Rory Gilmore, Bob Woodward thing for the rest of my life.

But as I become more aware of the TYPE of journalism I want to do, and I look at the places I turn to for quality reporting, I’m finding myself reading fewer newspapers and listening to more public radio. I feel like I can rely on the reporters on NPR to give me the news in a fair and unbalanced way. 

I also look to the future of my life, and what kind of lifestyle I want to live. Sure, I want to be able to provide my readers/listeners with breaking news and tell them what I believe to be important, but there’s something comforting about the pace of radio news. It’s not in-your-face. Often, it’s not the same-old breaking news story. Instead, it’s the untold story. It’s the quirky piece that you didn’t even realize you were interested in. It’s the piece that takes a week or two of sitting down with someone and getting their story and recording natural sound and giving a listener an experience of the senses, beyond what’s on the page. These things are intriguing for me.

And yet, it is difficult for me to let go of the written word. Luckily, that’s not the way radio works anymore. More than any other type of media, public radio is embracing multimedia. That means along with audio, they’re doing video, photo slideshows, online stories, using social media and connecting with listeners on many platforms. This also is appealing to me.

I’ve got a few more months before I decide what my experience will be like as I enter the upper-level of journalism classes. Whether or not I pursue a broadcast track or a print track, I know I can take my journalistic skills and do something fulfilling for the rest of my life, even if it wasn’t exactly what I had planned. 

Leave a Reply

